Aerial Well Study

Microwave International New Media Arts Festival

Hong Kong, CN  2014

Aerial Well Study is composed of a new generation of kinetic mechanisms that pull and twist toward passing visitors, following their movement. A floating scaffold of elongated acrylic spines is laden with dense masses of glass vessels interspersed with custom acoustic devices. The mechanisms integrate parallel threads of shape-memory alloy that permits pulling and reaching movements in multiple directions. New learning algorithms have been introduced which allow for constantly evolving responses to occupants exploring the environment. Internal vinegar cells arrayed overhead generate pulses of current that trigger gentle cascades of LED lights and whispering sound.

The installation was presented at Exhibition Hall, Low Block, Hong Kong City Hall from November 7 – 16, 2014, as part of the Microwave International New Media Arts Festival.

Project Leads

  • Philip Beesley
  • Petra Bogias
  • Matt Borland
  • Matthew Chan
  • Martin Correa
  • Jonathan Gotfryd
  • Salvador Miranda
  • Mo Memarian
  • Jonathan Ronzani
  • Darcie Watson

PBAI Studio

  • Miguel Enkerlin
  • Anne Paxton
  • Rolf Seifert
  • Mingyi Zhou


  • Salvador Breed
  • Robert Gorbet
  • Dana Kulic

Production (Hong Kong)

  • Kasey Wong Man Man
  • Celia Liu Pui Sum
  • Rachel Wai Lam
  • Arabii So Man Wah
  • Ruby Cheung
  • Joyce Tsoi Sze Yi
  • Crystal Li Ching Chi
  • Heiyan Chow
  • Doris Chan Wai Yan
  • Wong Kawing
  • Jennifer Wong Tsz Ching
  • Gerry Kong Ka Ming
  • Joan Wong Wing Man
  • Anthony Lui Tsz Hing
  • Kineks Chu Kwan Long
  • Charlie Fong Chung Man
  • Lb Lee Chak Pui
  • Wena Ho Wing Wa
  • Sue Ho So Lam
  • Ng Ka Ka
  • Mandie Choy Hang Chuen

  • Tse Hiu Fung
  • Lau Sai Wing
  • Franko Lam Sin Yu
  • Wong Yu Ling
  • Angela Luk Yin Ming
  • Chung Ming Fong
  • Fiona Wong Ka Wing
  • Chan Wai Ki
  • Fok Yiu Yiu
  • Lo Chung Nok
  • Yim Kar Kin
  • Lam Hiu Yan
  • Wong Wing Lung
  • Law Wai Man
  • Chan Wing Yin
  • Cho Hoi Yee
  • Samuel Cheung Wui Tim
  • Louis Cheung Tsz Yau
  • Wilson Fan Ting Fung
  • Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada